WEIMAR - EUROPEAN CITY OF CULTURE

WEIMAR – EUROPEAN CITY OF CULTURE

weimar GmbH _ Tourist-Information Weimar _ Markt 10 _ 99423 Weimar _ T + 49 3643 7450 _ F + 49 3643 745420
tourist-info@weimar.de _ www.weimar.de


Weimar has always attracted big names and big events. This remains as true today as it was 200 years ago, only the location is now more modern: instead of Anna Amalia's salon, today it is the Neue Weimarhalle congress centre which provides the perfect meeting place.

Weimar has universal appeal. Music lovers can follow in the footsteps of Bach or discover Franz Liszt. Weimar is also strongly associated with the dawn of the modern age. It was here that Walter Gropius established the Bauhaus more than 90 years ago. Weimar is also where Belgian artist Henry van de Velde paved the way for this revolution 15 years earlier. Although there is much to see and do beyond Classical Weimar, the town's enduring impression remains the legacy of Goethe and Schiller, the exhibitions and events devoted to them and their enduring appeal to visitors. Weimar encompasses a wealth of UNESCO world heritage treasures, all in close proximity to one another: no fewer than 16 ensembles have been recognised by UNESCO for their cultural importance. The first on the list is the 'Bauhaus and its sites in Weimar and Dessau', represented by the Haus am Horn and the Henry van de Velde buildings as well as the exhibits in the Bauhaus Museum. The second is 'Classical Weimar', and includes the houses of Goethe and Schiller, the Duchess Anna Amalia library, the Church of St. Peter and Paul, palaces, parks, and other ensembles from the Classicism period.

Much of the town centre is protected by preservation orders. The historical houses have been exceptionally well restored. Weimar is a youthful and vibrant destination today, but one that nonetheless never loses sight of its remarkable history. The old quarter is a joy to discover on foot. Its many historical quarters are located very close together, giving visitors on a sightseeing tour of Weimar plenty of opportunity to enjoy its mix of culture, heritage, beautiful old buildings and vibrant, cosmopolitan flair.

WEIMAR - KULTURSTADT EUROPAS

WEIMAR – KULTURstadt EUROPAS

weimar GmbH _ Tourist-Information Weimar _ Markt 10 _ 99423 Weimar _ T + 49 3643 7450 _ F + 49 3643 745420
tourist-info@weimar.de _ www.weimar.de


Weimar zieht große Namen und große Ereignisse magisch an. Das ist heute noch so wie vor 200 Jahren. Nur der Ort ist moderner: Statt Anna Amalias Salon ist das congress centrum neue weimarhalle idealer Treffpunkt.

In Weimar kommt jeder auf seine Kosten. Musikkenner begeben sich auf die Spuren Bachs oder entdecken Franz Liszt. Liebhaber der Moderne sind nicht weniger begeistert: Vor mehr als 90 Jahren gründete Walter Gropius das Staatliche Bauhaus in Weimar. Der belgische Künstler Henry van de Velde hatte schon 15 Jahre vorher in Weimar den Grundstein dafür gelegt. Trotz dieser bedeutsamen nicht-klassischen Weimar-Kapitel beherrschen Goethe und Schiller mit ihrer Präsenz und den ihnen gewidmeten Ausstellungen, Veranstaltungen und dem nicht abreißenden Interesse der Besucher das Weimar-Bild. Weimar vereint auf engstem Raum eine Fülle UNESCO-Welterbe-Stätten: Insgesamt 16 Ensembles wurden mit dem UNESCO-Label ausgezeichnet. Das „Bauhaus und seine Stätten in Weimar und Dessau“ ist mit dem Haus am Horn und den Henry-van-de-Velde-Bauten sowie den Exponaten im Bauhaus-Museum vertreten. Die Eintragung „Klassisches Weimar“ umfasst neben Goethe- und Schillerhaus, Herzogin Anna Amalia Bibliothek, Parks, Schlössern, Stadtkirche und weiteren Ensembles die Zeugnisse der Klassik.

Die Innenstadt ist zu großen Teilen denkmalgeschützt. Vorbildlich sind die historischen Häuser restauriert worden. Bei allem Respekt vor der wechselvollen Vergangenheit bleibt Weimar dennoch immer jung und lebendig. Weimars Altstadt lädt zum Entdecken und Verweilen ein. Nah beieinander liegen die vielen geschichts­trächtigen Quartiere: Wenn sich Besucher auf eine Entdeckungsreise durch die Residenzstadt einlassen, sind sie oftmals hingerissen von der Mischung aus kulturellem Zentrum, historischer Bedeutsamkeit und schöner, alter Stadt mit ihrer weltläufigen Lebendigkeit.